FAQ

First Edition Frequently Asked Question & Rule Clarifications

  • Playing Card Clarifications
    • Battle of Trafalgar: Each Nation must move it's strongest available ship at sea outside of the Mediterranean to any location in the Mediterranean not occupied by another ship. If a nation only has one ship, and this ship is in the Mediterranean, it may be moved to another location. Moves must be made in turn order. 
    • Irish Famine: Only ports in Europe do not produce any resources this turn. 
    • Smallpox Vaccine/War of Austrian Succession: Each player may take--in turn order--command of one port that is unsettled anywhere on the map without paying a settlement cost. 
    • The Great Exhibition: Britain chooses which resources to take.
    • Treaty of Aix La Chapelle: Instead of trading resources one to one with a port, a player can gain three resources for trading one resource.
    • Strong Breeze: Additional actions can be used in any way (sailing, trading, attack, or port settling), not just for ship movement. 
    • Steady Winds: Additional actions can be used in any way (sailing, trading, attack, or port settling), not just for ship movement. 
    • Land Ho! and variations: When you play/draw a card allowing you to establish a new port somewhere on the board, you do not have to pay the 1g/1s/1w you normally pay for settling that port.
  • Rule Clarifications
    • If you are being Fleet Attacked and use decoy, does the decoy stop the whole attack or just one ship? Yes. Decoy cancels the whole attack.
    • Can a Port, Fort, or Naval Base counter-attack? No, only ships can counter-attack.
    • Can you move "through" another ship? No.
    • If a Ship of the Line is triple attacked, can it counter-attack all three ships? No. A Ship of the Line can only counter-attack up to two ships. Also, a Ship of the Line can only counter-attack any given ship with one die roll (representing one broadside brought to use against the enemy).
    • Can Captain's Orders used to increase a players Pirate bribe be played after bribes are revealed? Yes a Captain's Orders card can always be played at any time. 
    • What happens after the fearsome Pirate is defeated? There is no longer a Pirate bribe phase each round. 
    • How many Captain's cards can be played per turn? Each player MUST play (or discard for gold) one Captain's card during the beginning of their turn. If a player has a Captain's Order card this can be played at any time during the game --such as in addition to the players' one Captain card that is played or discarded at the beginning of their turn. Espionage and If Memory Serves are Captain's Orders and can be used before the players' one Captain card is played or discarded afterwards. If the player wants to use a Captain's Order card as their one card played or discarded at the beginning of their turn this is perfectly acceptable because a Captain's Order card is a type of Captain's Card. 
    • Can I "discard" a Captain's Order before drawing new cards? Yes. This is an important tool to help manage the cards you have in your hand. This can only be done prior to the Draw Phase.
    • What does +defense on land mean? It means you gain additional  defense for any port, fort, or naval base you control. What about +defense at sea? It means you gain additional defense for any transport, frigate or ship of the line you control.
    • How do you know you can sail on a square on the map? If all four sides of the square are visible, it can be traversed.
    • Do I sail onto a port square? No. You sail up to and adjacent to the port. 
    • What is a continent and what is an island? Any port connected to a land mass with a label is part of a continent. Otherwise it is an island.
    • Some of the counts are incorrect in the manual: Yes. We apologize for this error. Please see 
    • No Transports: If you do not have an available transport, you may not launch one, even if a card or rule indicates that you could. (e.g., if all five transports are sunk, you do not launch another).
  • Where do I submit questions about the rules? Please submit any questions you have re: the rules below. We will answer them here. .
  • If a rule is not clear, what do we do? In this case, the player who currently has the most Empire Points should make a ruling on the rule. They have earned that right through conquest. It is recommended (but not required) that they be just in their ruling. This play should also submit the contentious issue to this FAQ for proper long-term adjudication.